Edmonton wins WHL title, beating Seattle 2-0 Monday

Oil Kings, WHL champs

For the first time in three years, the Western Hockey League has crowned a champion.

The Edmonton Oil Kings clinched their third WHL championship in modern franchise history Monday with a 2-0 victory over the Seattle Thunderbirds at Rogers Place in Edmonton, capturing the best-of-seven series in six games.

Jakub Demek scored what stood up as the game-winner on the power play seven minutes into the opening period.

Playoff MVP Kaiden Guhle added some insurance early in the second.

Sebastian Cossa slammed the door the rest of the way, stopping all 27 shots he faced for his fifth goose egg of the playoffs.

Edmonton was the class of the Central Division all season long, winning its third consecutive division banner while posting a 50-14-3-1 record; the 104 points amassed by the Oil Kings were the third-highest total in modern franchise history.

The Club was dominant on home ice as well, finishing with a 29-4-1-0 mark from their 34 regular season home fixtures including a 15-game home winning streak which ran from October 22, 2021, through January 18, 2022.

Edmonton completed the 2022 WHL Playoffs with a 16-3 record. The Oil Kings were 9-2 on home ice during the 2022 WHL Playoffs, completing the road portion of their post-season schedule with a 7-1 record.

The Oil Kings join the host Saint John Sea Dogs and QMJHL Shawinigan Cataractes in the Memorial Cup in Saint John, NB beginning next Monday.

The OHL champion will be crowned Wednesday when Hamilton host Windsor in game seven.

More WHL articles