The Western Hockey League has released home opening dates for all 22 teams

WHL season opens Oct. 1

Anticipating the lifting of health restrictions across Western Canada and the Pacific Northwest, the WHL Wednesday announced home openers for each of the 22 member teams.

The league also unveiled plans for a 68-game regular season beginning Oct. 1 and running through April 3.

The Kelowna Rockets will play their home opener Saturday, Oct. 2 against the reigning US Division champion Everett Silvertips, while the Kamloops Blazers will raise their BC Division championship banner Saturday Oct. 9 against the rival Prince George Cougars.

The league anticipates a full capacity, fan-friendly and safe environment throughout all markets this season.

Current season ticket holders will receive renewal packages in the coming weeks, with new season tickets expected to become available sometime next month.

The league's 2021-2022 schedule will not feature interlocking games between the Eastern and Western Conference, meaning BC Division teams will play exclusively against teams from their own division and the US Division.

The pre-season schedule will be released Monday while the Western Conference regular season schedule will be unveiled next Wednesday.

More WHL articles