Nominations are closed and list of 2022 municipal candidates has been finalized

The 2022 candidates are...

The municipal election is still weeks away, but several North Okanagan communities will be getting new mayors.

The deadline for nominations for the Oct. 15 municipal election passed at 4 p.m. today and Ruth Hoyte was acclaimed as mayor for Coldstream.

While the mayor's position has been filled, Coldstream voters will still have to elect a city council from a list of 12 candidates.

Among them is former longtime Coldstream mayor Jim Garlick who is stepping down to run for council.

Also running for Coldstream council is Pat Cochrane, Alex Dantzer, Doug Dirk, Richard Enns, Stephanie Hoffman, Don Jefcoat, Jeremy Levy, John Myhill, Simone Runyan, Jeff Stevenson and Glen Taylor.

The City of Vernon will see a three-way race for the mayor's chair.

Incumbent Victor Cumming is being challenged by current two-term councillor Scott Anderson and Erik Olesen, who ran for mayor in 2018, the NDP nomination during the last provincial election and the 2021 Vernon by-election.

There are 13 candidates running for six city councillor spots in Vernon.

The political hopefuls are incumbents Teresa Durning, Kelly Fehr, Kari Gares, Akbal Mund and Brian Quiring along with newcomers Jenelle Brewer, Brian Guy, Ross Hawse, Stephanie Hendy, Ed Stranks, Dawn Tucker, Patrick Vance and Andy Wylie.

Armstrong will also see a new mayor. Longtime mayor Chris Pieper decided not to run again and Joe Cramer claimed the mayor's chair unchallenged.

Incumbents Paul Britton, Steven Drapala and Shirley Fowlers are all seeking another term in office with newcomers Kim Sinclair, Neil Todd, Jessie Valstar, Sean Newton, Mark A Wehner and Ryan Nitchie challenging for a council seat.

Christine Fraser will return as the mayor of Spallumcheen, going unchallenged for the position.

There are seven candidates vying for a seat on council.

They are incumbents John (Jan) Bakker, Christine LeMaire, Gerald (Gerry) Popoff, Joe Van Tienhoven, Andrew Casson, Todd York and Carolyn Farris.

Enderby mayor Greg McCune being challenged by Huck Galbraith and Herman Holvorson.

Running for council are incumbents Roxanne Davyduke, Tundra Baird, Brian Schreiner and Shawn Shishido along with newcomers Sarah Yerhoff, Steve Campbell, Blaise Pelletier and David Ramey.

Brad Weston will challenge longtime Lumby Mayor Kevin Acton for the villages top spot, while incumbents Lori Mindnich, Randal Ostafichuk, Sherry Kineshanko and newcomers Julie Pilon and Geoff Bevan try for a seat on council.

In the Regional District of North Okanagan, four incumbents will be returning.

Bob Flemming was unchallenged in Electoral Area B (Swan Lake Commonage), Amanda Shatzko was acclaimed for Electoral Area C (BX/Silver Star), Rick Fairbairn went unchallenged Electoral Area D (Rural Lumby) as did Jim Johnson for Electoral Area E (Cherryville.)

Area F, Rural Enderby is being contested by Jerry Legault, Lori Heins and Allysa Hopkins.

More Vernon News