Best in BC ready to arrive

Just two days after Christmas British Columbia’s top U21 curlers will arrive in Vernon for the 2019 BC Junior Curling Championships.

The 2019 BC Juniors features eight men’s teams and eight women’s teams, all vying for a chance to represent the province at the 2019 New Holland Canadian Junior Curling Championships, which take place Jan. 19 to 27 in Prince Albert, Sask.

Last season, Team Tardi won the junior men’s competition and Team Reese-Hansen won the junior women’s competition.

Team Tardi went on to win gold at the Canadian Juniors and the World Juniors. Both teams will be competing in the 2019 BC Juniors.

Round robin play will begin at the Vernon Curling Club at 9 a.m. on Dec. 27, with the three-team playoffs beginning on Dec. 31.

The junior women’s final will take place at 10 a.m. on Jan. 1, with the junior men’s final on the same day at 3 p.m.

The teams that will be competing in the 2019 BC Junior Men’s Curling Championship are as follows:

  • Team Tardi (Langley/Victoria)
  • Team Carpenter (Royal City)
  • Team Sato (Royal City)
  • Team Umbach (Langley/Victoria)
  • Team Colwell (Vernon/Kelowna/Invermere)
  • Team Marshall (Duncan/Parksville)
  • Team Yamada (Kamloops)
  • Team Silversides (Victoria/Vancouver)

The teams that will be competing in the 2019 BC Junior Women’s Curling Championship are as follows:

  • Team Daniels (Delta Thistle)
  • Team Reese-Hansen (Victoria)
  • Team Drexel (Delta Thistle)
  • Team Taylor (Royal City/Tunnel Town)
  • Team McGillivray (Vernon)
  • Team Guidos (Prince George)
  • Team Hafeli (Kamloops)
  • Team Wilson (Juan de Fuca, Victoria)

Live scores and schedules will be available online. The event is free for spectators to attend.

More Vernon News

Recent Trending



Send us your News Tips!


Vernon SPCA Featured Pet

Wylie Vernon SPCA >


Castanet Proud Member of RTNDA Canada