Locals among BC's best

Staff from several Okanagan schools are finalists in the inaugural Premier’s Awards for Excellence in Education.

In the North Okanagan, School District 22's Murray Sasges from Vernon Community School is a finalist for the Community Engagement Award, while Jacquie Grypink, educational assistant at Hillview Elementary School, is a finalist in the Outstanding Support category.

Amelia Witt, at Salmon Arm Secondary school - Sullivan Campus, in School District 83 (North Okanagan-Shuswap), is up for the Diversity and Inclusion Award.

Carmen McDowell, at Glenrosa Middle school, SD 23 (Central Okanagan) is in the running for the Outstanding New Teacher Award, while Heather McIntosh at Kelowna's Mount Boucherie Secondary School is up for the Technology and Innovation Award.

At School District 67 in Penticton, Richard Morgan, custodian, is also up for the Outstanding Support Award for his work at Penticton Secondary School.

The awards honour the efforts of those who go above and beyond to make life better for students.

“We have a great group of teachers and support staff at School District 22,” said Supt. Joe Rogers. “This award validates that we have staff here that make a positive, long-lasting impact in our schools, with our students and in our community at large.”

Launched during B.C.’s Education Week earlier this year, 188 nominations were received in nine categories – seven honouring the dedication of teachers, one recognizing principals, vice-principals and administrators, and another celebrating support staff.

“Being this is the first year for the awards, we look forward to the possibility of more of our teachers and support staff being recognized by the premier in future years,” said Rogers.

Finalists are invited to an awards ceremony at Government House in Victoria on World Teachers’ Day, Oct. 5.

More Vernon News