Crowded race for council

The nomination period for next month’s municipal election has now closed, and it looks like it will be a crowded race in Penticton.

A total of six people put their names forward in the mayor’s race while 26 are running for six council seats.

Mayor Andrew Jakubeit will be trying to keep his job against former councillor John Vassilaki, entrepreneur Jason Cox, movie theatre manager James Blake, security guard Dominic Wheeler and former dispensary owner Jukka Laurio.

The candidates running for council in alphabetical order are:

  • John Archer
  • Duffy Baker
  • Julius Bloomfield
  • Karen Brownlee
  • Glenn Clark
  • Daryl Clarke
  • Christopher Evasin
  • Tracy Franklin
  • Joe Frocklage
  • Isaac Gilbert
  • Lynn Kelsey
  • Jake Kimberley
  • Martyn Lewis
  • Jesse Martin
  • Doug Maxwell
  • Christopher Millin
  • David O'Brien
  • Max Picton (I)
  • Marie Prior
  • Kevin Proteau
  • Frank Regehr
  • Katie Robinson
  • Connie Sahlmark
  • Daryl Sanders
  • Judy Sentes (I)
  • Campbell Watt (I)

For school trustee (four seats elected for Penticton)

  • Shelley Clarke
  • Teresa Hebert
  • Derek Hurst
  • James Palanio
  • Barbra Sheppard
  • Tracy Van Raes
  • Dan Walton

Castanet Penticton will be hosting short biographies and questionnaires for all council candidates and video interviews with mayors candidates. Check back for those in the coming weeks.

More Penticton News