Okanagan College students capture awards on national stage

Local students win big

Okanagan College business students won big at a prestigious competition this month.

The Queen’s University Inter-Collegiate Business Competition —Canada’s largest, oldest, and most prestigious undergraduate case competition— saw 15 OC students combine for four medals, including in a team category.

The competition, held Jan. 13 to 15 in Kingston, Ont., saw seven teams from the Okanagan School of Business competing in the final weekend of the event. Two-person teams were presented with a business scenario to analyze, develop a solution, and create a presentation to be presented to a panel of judges in a 5.5-hour time frame.

OC students were competing in areas such as human resources, ethics, accounting, debate, digital strategy, marketing, and business policy and teammates Patrick Gilmour (3rd year) and Jessica Skerlec (4th year) were among the winners, coming away with a first place showing in the human resources competition.

“The entire process challenged me to apply my learnings and strengths from our business program in an environment outside of the classroom,” said Skerlec. “The competition not only allowed me to realize my full potential and improve my confidence but created long lasting relationships with my incredible teammates and coaches, as well as many individuals from all over the world."

“I was so ecstatic when we heard our school’s name announced as champions,” added Gilmour. “I felt a great deal of school pride in that moment and still do. I was so glad to be able to attribute this accomplishment to the dedication of our coaches – Roger and Laura – and the entire business program at OC. I have been given a really amazing education and this championship is absolutely a reflection of that.”

After the final weekend’s exhilarating three days, several OC students and professors won awards:

  • 1st (HR): Patrick Gilmour and Jessica Skerlec – Coached by Laura Thurnheer and Roger Wheeler
  • 2nd (Debate): Braden Hall and Manmeet Dhaliwal – Coached by Bob Groves
  • 2nd (Ethics): Kimberly Cornell – Coached by Robert Ryan and Caroline Gilchrist
  • 3rd (Accounting): Annika Kirk and Connor Margetts – Coached by Mary Ann Knoll and Adrian Fontenla
  • Co-Chairperson Award – Exceptional Team Spirit

“This really is a tremendous accomplishment for our teams. It’s a credit to the students, professors and everyone involved in the Okanagan School of Business,” said Dr. Andrew Hay, Okanagan College Provost and Vice President Academic. “I want to congratulate the entire team on being awarded the Co-Chairperson Award for team spirit. You have done us all proud.”

More Kelowna News