Kelowna hosts annual civic awards show on line

Honouring our best virtually

The platform and delivery was different, but the contributions made by some of Kelowna's finest citizens, corporations and athletes were not diminished.

Due to crowd size limits because of COVID-19, the City of Kelowna was forced to cancel the live theatre-style Civic and Community Awards show.

Instead, a 60 minute version of the show was produced, and unveiled live Thursday evening.

Al Hildebrandt became the first recipient of the Fred Macklin and Sarah Donalda-Treadgold Memorial Award - Citizen of the Year.

For the past 20 years, the city has recognized both male and female citizens of the year, however, the award was made gender-neutral late last year, as was the young citizen award.

He was named the top citizen for 2019, beating out finalists Gail Harrison and Robin Jarman.

Hildebrandt volunteered more than 2,000 hours to a variety of causes in 2019. He is president and director of the Impact Tomorrow Foundation, which worked to create the Child Advocacy Centre, which opened recently.

He has also provided both financial, and volunteer support for Cops for Kids, The Foundry, JoAnna's House, and was instrumental in bringing World Vision to Kelowna.

Hildebrandt plans to participate in this year's Cops for Kids ride.

KSS athlete Madelyn Hettinga was the only double winner Thursday.

Hettinga was named winner of the Augie Ciancone award as the Female High School Athlete of the Year.

She was also named the overall Female Athlete of the Year.

Hettinga captained the KSS girls volleyball team to a second consecutive provincial title in 2019. She was also named the tournament's MVP.

The team was also named winner of the Bryan Couling Memorial Award as Team of the Year.

Outgoing Gospel Mission executive director Randy Benson was honoured with the Anita Tozer Memorial Award.

That award is bestowed by council to an individual or group in recognition of an extraordinary and positive contribution to the quality of life in Kelowna.

Benson came to Kelowna in 1993 as a youth pastor at Willow Park Church.

He took on the role as executive director of the Gospel Mission in 2001, a position he will soon step down from.

"We serve many, and we rescue some," said Benson.

"The fact that we do see people saved from lifestyles that are destructive, and we see them get back on their feet, I really believe we are doing important work."

Thursday's award winners include:

Bob Giordano Memorial – Coach/Sport Administrator of the Year

Darcy Rysz

Bryan Couling Memorial Award – Athletic Team of the Year

KSS Owls AAAA Girls Volleyball Team

Female Athlete of the Year

Madelyn Hettinga

Male Athlete of the Year

Trevor Brigden

Female Augie Ciancone Memorial Award

Madelyn Hettinga

Male Augie Ciancone Memorial Award

Roan McCarthy

Champion for the Environment

Operation Take Two

Teen Honour in the Arts

Sarah McIntyre

Honour in the Arts

Erin Scott

Young Citizen of the Year

Abby Kiehlbauch

Fred Macklin & Sarah Donalda-Treadgold Memorial Award - Citizen of the Year

Al Hildebrandt

Corporate Community of the Year Award

Avalon Event Rentals

Central Okanagan Foundation – Volunteer Organization of the Year

Project Literacy

More Kelowna News