45th annual Civic & Community Awards night going virtual

Civic awards go virtual

Kelowna’s 45th annual Civic & Community Awards are going virtual, allowing for the community to celebrate the finalists and winners through an online presentation on July 2 at 6:30 p.m.

The awards ceremony was scheduled for Apr. 29, but due to the COVID-19 pandemic the event was cancelled.

“While this year’s Civic Awards night will look a little different, we’re excited to still be able to find a way to celebrate and honour the incredible accomplishments of our citizens,” said Mariko Siggers, community and neighbourhood services manager.

“By moving the awards night online, it allows our finalists to still celebrate with their friends and family, and the community can watch and celebrate along with them.”

The video will be streamed live, and will also be available for viewing in its entirety following the stream at kelowna.ca/civicawards.

45th Annual Civic & Community Award finalists by category:

  • Bob Giordano Memorial – Coach/Sport Administrator of the Year
    • Darcy Rysz
    • Kelly Hettinga
    • Ron Koch
  • Bryan Couling Memorial Award – Athletic Team of the Year
    • KSS Owls AAAA Girls Volleyball Team
    • KSS Owls Girls Curling Team
    • Kelowna U16A Ringette Elite
  • Female Athlete of the Year
    • Emma Cannan
    • Madelyn Hettinga
    • Megan Hart
  • Male Athlete of the Year
    • Cooper Humphreys
    • Jordan Cheyne
    • Trevor Brigden
  • Female Augie Ciancone Memorial Award
    • Madelyn Hettinga
    • Melaina Corrado
    • Tessa Ivans
  • Male Augie Ciancone Memorial Award
    • Braden White
    • Matt Hopley
    • Roan McCarthy
  • Champion for the Environment
    • Friends of Black Mountain Society   
    • Operation Take Two
    • Treehouse Forest Preschool
  • Teen Honour in the Arts
    • Ava Clark
    • Rowyn Grenier
    • Sarah McIntyre
  • Honour in the Arts
    • Erin Scott
    • Pete MacLeod
    • Stephen Buck
  • Young Citizen of the Year
    • Abby Kiehlbauch
    • Kritika Dave
    • Yvonne Wood
  • Fred Macklin & Sarah Donalda-Treadgold Memorial Award - Citizen of the Year
    • Al Hildebrandt
    • Gail Harrison
    • Robin Jarman
  • Corporate Community of the Year Award
    • Avalon Event Rentals
    • Prestige Hotels and Resorts
    • Valley First Credit Union
  • Central Okanagan Foundation – Volunteer Organization of the Year
    • Cops for Kids
    • JCI Kelowna
    • Project Literacy

More Kelowna News

Recent Trending



Kelowna SPCA Featured Pet

Oreo Kelowna SPCA >



Castanet Proud Member of RTNDA Canada