Kamloops Arts Council announce Art Exposed Juror's Choice Awards

KAC hand out awards

Kamloops Arts Council (KAC) announced the winners of the 11 annual Art Exposed Jurors’ Choice Awards.

The jurors, consisting of Deb Got, Robin Hodgson and William Fymire were tasked with choosing first and second place in five categories.

For the 2D Emerging Artist category, the jury chose Carmen Teixeria-Derksen from Canoe, B.C.’s piece, ‘Hope’ for first place and Jillian Beach of Kamloops’ ‘Circus of the Cosmos-II’ for second.

In the 2D Established Artist category, Edit Pal of Sunpeaks won first place for ‘Wintertide’ and local Parm Armstrong won second for ‘Pieces’.

Local winners were chosen in the 3D Emerging Artist category, with Mike Kehler being awarded first for ‘Guardian Muninn’ and Jackie Jones second for ‘Rocky Horror Game of Thrones or How it Should Have Ended’.

And in the 3D Established Artist category, Nathan Scott from Knutsford won for ‘The Window’ and Ed Jensen from Kamloops received second for ‘Medicine Bird’.

In the final category, Youth, Kamloops local Addysen Outerbridge, took home the first place award for ‘Sutherland Falls’.

Photos of all the winners can be found on the KAC website.

The following Kamloops artists were named in honourable mentions; Ross Outerbridge, Edward Young, Dylan Fredrickson, Ethan Klohn, B. McLean, Lisa Durant, Dale Redfern, Terrance Stone and Liz Thiessen.

Art Exposed also continues online and in person at the Old Courthouse on Seymour St. W until March 13.

Doors are open 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. and admission is by donation.

More Kamloops News