The team of the year is . . .


Sport BC has named the 2011-2012 Penticton Vees as the 2012 Team of the Year.

The BCHL club rewrote the record books last season, setting both league and national records en route to their second National Championship and their first in 26 years.

Vees Head Coach and GM Fred Harbinson says the award is for everyone to enjoy, not just the team.

“Winning such a prestigious award as this should be rewarding not only our players and staff, but is a reflection on our league and the community of Penticton as well.”

The Vees were one of three finalists vying for the award, along with Trinity Western University Men’s Volleyball team and the University of British Columbia Women’s Swim team.

The Penticton hockey club took home the accolade last night at the awards show in Richmond by setting a new Canadian Junior Hockey League consecutive wins record with 42 straight victories in the regular season. They also set new records in the BCHL for most wins (54), points (110) and winning percentage (.917) in the regular season.

The Vees capped the season off by winning the National Junior ‘A’ Championship in May.

More BCHL articles





Cover your team's games! Write up a story and email us [email protected] for publication here.

Castanet Proud Member of RTNDA Canada