169516
169515

Wasting Techniques by Aileen Bahmanipour


Wednesday, February 24, 2021     11:00 AM

Alternator Centre for Contemporary Art, 421 Cawston Ave., Unit 103, Kelowna Locate on the map



Aileen Bahmanipour is both image-maker and image-breaker in 'Wasting Techniques' at the Alternator Centre for Contemporary Art

In 'Wasting Techniques', opening at the Alternator on January 29, Aileen Bahmanipour takes inspiration from milling machines, extraction tools, and other similar industrial machines that separate particles from materials.

In her exhibition, the Iranian-Canadian artist creates a series of complex drawings on clear acetate sheets, filling the space with manipulated drawings of diagrams and useful tools. Rendering the collection of overlapping drawings as illegible, messy scribbles, the artist has created what she describes as “useless drawings” that contradict the very purpose of drawing, which is to have something the viewer is able to see.

Using a “spitting machine” the artworks are regularly sprayed with squirts of water, which will overtime wash away the drawings and turn them into stains on the floor. Visitors will have multiple ways to interact with this exhibition, either in person, or over a live stream through 2 cameras the artist has set up, one in front of the transparent sheet and one behind.

'Wasting Techniques' will be on view in the Main Gallery of the Alternator Centre for Contemporary Art from January 29 to March 13, 2021.

Visitors will also have an opportunity to learn more about Bahmanipour at our upcoming artist talk with the artist via zoom on February 18. To learn more and register to participate please visit our website at www.alternatorcentre.com

The Alternator Centre for Contemporary Art is open Tuesday - Friday 11am - 6pm and Saturday 11am - 4pm.

https://www.alternatorcentre.com/events/aileen-bahmanipour-wasting-techniques

Other Dates:

  • Thursday, February 25 11:00 AM
  • Friday, February 26 11:00 AM
  • Saturday, February 27 11:00 AM
  • Sunday, February 28 11:00 AM
  • Monday, March 1 11:00 AM
  • Tuesday, March 2 11:00 AM
  • Wednesday, March 3 11:00 AM
  • Thursday, March 4 11:00 AM
  • Friday, March 5 11:00 AM
  • Saturday, March 6 11:00 AM
  • Sunday, March 7 11:00 AM
  • Monday, March 8 11:00 AM
  • Tuesday, March 9 11:00 AM
  • Wednesday, March 10 11:00 AM
  • Thursday, March 11 11:00 AM
  • Friday, March 12 11:00 AM
  • Saturday, March 13 11:00 AM


View all events for Alternator Centre for Contemporary Art

169513


169087