49188
45615

Museum of Anthropology at UBC presents Amazonia


Saturday, December 16, 2017     10:00 AM

Museum of Anthropology at UBC, 6393 NW Marine Drive Vancouver, BC , Vancouver Locate on the map



The Museum of Anthropology (MOA) at UBC presents the thought-provoking, socially and environmentally-conscious new exhibition Amazonia: The Rights of Nature, on display March 10, 2017 – January 28, 2018. Curated by Dr. Nuno Porto (MOA Curator, Africa and Latin America), Amazonia explores the creative ideas that inspire Indigenous resistance to threats facing the world’s largest rainforest. The exhibition features Amazonian basketry, textiles, carvings, feather works and ceramics both of everyday and of ceremonial use, representing Indigenous, Maroon and white settler communities. Today, these groups confront threats caused by political violence, mining, oil and gas exploration, industrial agriculture, forest fires, and hydroelectric plants. Challenging visitors to examine their own notions towards holistic well-being, the exhibition covers more than 100 years of unsuspected relationships between Vancouver and Amazonian peoples, ideas, and their struggles.

Opening Celebration: Thursday, March 9, 7-10pm. Free admission.

For information visit: moa.ubc.ca/amazonia


http://www.moa.ubc.ca/amazonia

Other Dates:

  • Sunday, December 17 10:00 AM
  • Monday, December 18 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, December 19 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, December 20 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, December 21 10:00 AM
  • Friday, December 22 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, December 23 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, December 24 10:00 AM
  • Monday, December 25 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, December 26 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, December 27 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, December 28 10:00 AM
  • Friday, December 29 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, December 30 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, December 31 10:00 AM
  • Monday, January 1 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, January 2 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, January 3 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, January 4 10:00 AM
  • Friday, January 5 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, January 6 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, January 7 10:00 AM
  • Monday, January 8 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, January 9 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, January 10 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, January 11 10:00 AM
  • Friday, January 12 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, January 13 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, January 14 10:00 AM
  • Monday, January 15 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, January 16 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, January 17 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, January 18 10:00 AM
  • Friday, January 19 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, January 20 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, January 21 10:00 AM
  • Monday, January 22 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, January 23 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, January 24 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, January 25 10:00 AM
  • Friday, January 26 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, January 27 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, January 28 10:00 AM


View all events for Museum of Anthropology at UBC

16279


45166
48246
44569