44195
43462

MOA presents Traces of Words


Saturday, July 22, 2017     7:00 PM

Museum of Anthropology at UBC, 6393 NW Marine Drive Vancouver, BC , Vancouver Locate on the map



The Museum of Anthropology (MOA) at UBC presents the insightful and explorative new exhibition Traces of Words: Art and Calligraphy from Asia (May 11 - October 9, 2017). Honouring the special significance that written forms hold across many diverse cultures in Asia, the multimedia exhibition will examine the physical traces of words – spoken and recorded – that are unique to humans. From Sumerian cuneiform inscriptions and Qu’ranic manuscripts, to Chinese calligraphy and Afghan graffiti, the texts in many styles evoke both the ephemeral and eternal. Expertly curated by Dr. Fuyubi Nakamura (MOA Curator, Asia), Traces of Words will feature works by international artists: Shamsia Hassani, Kimura Tsubasa, Yugami Hisao, Nortse, Phaptawan Suwannakudt, and teamLab. The exhibit will also showcase two works from the Aga Khan Museum, as well as highlights from MOA’s Asian collection including calligraphy by Dr. Sun Yat-Sen. The exhibition opening takes place on Thursday, May 11 at 7pm and is free to the public.

http://www.moa.ubc.ca/traces

Other Dates:

  • Sunday, July 23 07:00 PM
  • Monday, July 24 07:00 PM
  • Tuesday, July 25 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, July 26 07:00 PM
  • Thursday, July 27 07:00 PM
  • Friday, July 28 07:00 PM
  • Saturday, July 29 07:00 PM
  • Sunday, July 30 07:00 PM
  • Monday, July 31 07:00 PM
  • Tuesday, August 1 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, August 2 07:00 PM
  • Thursday, August 3 07:00 PM
  • Friday, August 4 07:00 PM
  • Saturday, August 5 07:00 PM
  • Sunday, August 6 07:00 PM
  • Monday, August 7 07:00 PM
  • Tuesday, August 8 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, August 9 07:00 PM
  • Thursday, August 10 07:00 PM
  • Friday, August 11 07:00 PM
  • Saturday, August 12 07:00 PM
  • Sunday, August 13 07:00 PM
  • Monday, August 14 07:00 PM
  • Tuesday, August 15 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, August 16 07:00 PM
  • Thursday, August 17 07:00 PM
  • Friday, August 18 07:00 PM
  • Saturday, August 19 07:00 PM
  • Sunday, August 20 07:00 PM
  • Monday, August 21 07:00 PM
  • Tuesday, August 22 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, August 23 07:00 PM
  • Thursday, August 24 07:00 PM
  • Friday, August 25 07:00 PM
  • Saturday, August 26 07:00 PM
  • Sunday, August 27 07:00 PM
  • Monday, August 28 07:00 PM
  • Tuesday, August 29 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, August 30 07:00 PM
  • Thursday, August 31 07:00 PM
  • Friday, September 1 07:00 PM
  • Saturday, September 2 07:00 PM
  • Sunday, September 3 07:00 PM
  • Monday, September 4 07:00 PM
  • Tuesday, September 5 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, September 6 07:00 PM
  • Thursday, September 7 07:00 PM
  • Friday, September 8 07:00 PM
  • Saturday, September 9 07:00 PM
  • Sunday, September 10 07:00 PM
  • Monday, September 11 07:00 PM
  • Tuesday, September 12 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, September 13 07:00 PM
  • Thursday, September 14 07:00 PM
  • Friday, September 15 07:00 PM
  • Saturday, September 16 07:00 PM
  • Sunday, September 17 07:00 PM
  • Monday, September 18 07:00 PM
  • Tuesday, September 19 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, September 20 07:00 PM
  • Thursday, September 21 07:00 PM
  • Friday, September 22 07:00 PM
  • Saturday, September 23 07:00 PM
  • Sunday, September 24 07:00 PM
  • Monday, September 25 07:00 PM
  • Tuesday, September 26 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, September 27 07:00 PM
  • Thursday, September 28 07:00 PM
  • Friday, September 29 07:00 PM
  • Saturday, September 30 07:00 PM
  • Sunday, October 1 07:00 PM
  • Monday, October 2 07:00 PM
  • Tuesday, October 3 07:00 PM
  • Wednesday, October 4 07:00 PM
  • Thursday, October 5 07:00 PM
  • Friday, October 6 07:00 PM
  • Saturday, October 7 07:00 PM
  • Sunday, October 8 07:00 PM
  • Monday, October 9 07:00 PM


View all events for Museum of Anthropology at UBC

38510
16477


40857
37869
42442