44009
42941

MOA presents Traces of Words


Friday, September 22, 2017     10:00 AM

Museum of Anthropology at UBC, 6393 NW Marine Dr, Vancouver, BC, Vancouver Locate on the map



The Museum of Anthropology (MOA) at UBC presents the insightful and explorative new exhibition Traces of Words: Art and Calligraphy from Asia (May 11 - October 9, 2017). Honouring the special significance that written forms hold across many diverse cultures in Asia, the multimedia exhibition will examine the physical traces of words – spoken and recorded – that are unique to humans. From Sumerian cuneiform inscriptions and Qu’ranic manuscripts, to Chinese calligraphy and Afghan graffiti, the texts in many styles evoke both the ephemeral and eternal. Expertly curated by Dr. Fuyubi Nakamura (MOA Curator, Asia), Traces of Words will feature works by international artists making their Canadian debut: Shamsia Hassani, Kimura Tsubasa, Yugami Hisao, Nortse, Phaptawan Suwannakudt, and teamLab. The exhibit will also showcase two works from the Aga Khan Museum, as well as highlights from MOA’s Asian collection including calligraphy by Dr. Sun Yat-Sen. The exhibition opening takes place on Thursday, May 11 at 7 pm and is free to the public.

For more information, visit: moa.ubc.ca/traces

http://moa.ubc.ca/portfolio_page/traces-of-words/

Other Dates:

  • Saturday, September 23 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, September 24 10:00 AM
  • Monday, September 25 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, September 26 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, September 27 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, September 28 10:00 AM
  • Friday, September 29 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, September 30 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, October 1 10:00 AM
  • Monday, October 2 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, October 3 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, October 4 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, October 5 10:00 AM
  • Friday, October 6 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, October 7 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, October 8 10:00 AM
  • Monday, October 9 10:00 AM


View all events for Museum of Anthropology at UBC

34293


40857
44569