154686

Experiment in F# Minor


Sunday, February 23, 2020     10:00 AM

Kelowna Art Gallery, 1315 Water Street, Kelowna Locate on the map



Experiment in F# Minor is an installation by artists Janet Cardiff and George Bures Miller.

It is organized through a collaboration between the Living Things Festival and the Kelowna Art Gallery.

On a large table sits a collection of bare speakers of all shapes and sizes. Light sensors are inlaid into the edge of the table and as the viewers move around the room, their shadows cause the various sound and instrumental tracks to fade up and overlap, mingle and fade down. Numerous viewers in the room create a cacophony of musical compositions that vary according to where the audience walks or how many people are in the room. When the space is empty, the table fades to silence.

For over three decades, Janet Cardiff and George Bures Miller have crafted multimedia environments that offer multi-sensory experiences with substance and depth. Their works incorporate sound, technologies, and objects that seem somehow obsolete. Janet Cardiff and George Bures Miller live and work in Grindrod, British Columbia and Berlin, Germany.

Experiment in F# Minor runs from January 18 to March 15, 2020.

https://www.livingthingsfestival.com

Other Dates:

  • Monday, February 24 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, February 25 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, February 26 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, February 27 10:00 AM
  • Friday, February 28 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, February 29 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, March 1 10:00 AM
  • Monday, March 2 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, March 3 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, March 4 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, March 5 10:00 AM
  • Friday, March 6 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, March 7 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, March 8 10:00 AM
  • Monday, March 9 10:00 AM
  • Tuesday, March 10 10:00 AM
  • Wednesday, March 11 10:00 AM
  • Thursday, March 12 10:00 AM
  • Friday, March 13 10:00 AM
  • Saturday, March 14 10:00 AM
  • Sunday, March 15 10:00 AM


View all events for Kelowna Art Gallery

150481
153263