Tight B.C. races give Liberals Richmond Centre riding, NDP takes Nanaimo-Ladysmith

Close B.C. ridings decided

The Liberals and New Democrats have been declared the winners in two hotly contested British Columbia federal ridings too close to call on election night.

Elections Canada says Liberal Wilson Miao will be the new member of Parliament for Richmond Centre, defeating the Conservative incumbent Alice Wong by 772 votes.

In Nanaimo-Ladysmith on Vancouver Island, New Democrat challenger Lisa Marie Barron defeated Conservative Tamara Kronis by 1,281 votes.

Green incumbent Paul Manly placed third.

Earlier Friday, Elections Canada declared Liberal Taleeb Noormohamed the winner in Vancouver Granville, the riding formerly held by Independent Jody Wilson-Raybould, a former Liberal cabinet minister.

Liberal Patrick Weiler was also declared the winner in West Vancouver-Sunshine Coast-Sea to Sky, defeating Conservative John Weston, a former cabinet minister.

While mail-in ballots for several ridings are still being counted, the final seat count stemming from Monday's election has now been all but finalized with the Liberals claiming 159, the Conservatives 119, 33 for the Bloc Québécois, 25 for the New Democratic Party and two for the Green Party.

More BC News