Movie Listings

British shows dominate Emmy Awards as The Crown wins big

Crown wins big at Emmys

The Crown swept the Emmys with seven wins at Sunday night's ceremony.

British actors and series dominated this year's awards show, which was broadcast live from Los Angeles, outside the Microsoft Theater, with many of the winners in London via a satellite link.

Netflix's The Crown continued its regal reign with awards for Best Drama, Directing for a Drama Series, and lead actors Olivia Colman and Tobias Menzies, as well as supporting stars Gillian Anderson and Josh O'Connor.

Meanwhile, The Queen's Gambit star Anya-Taylor Joy lost out on Best Actress in a Drama Series to fellow Brit Kate Winslet, who won for gritty HBO drama Mare of Easttown, but her Netflix chess show still earned two Emmy awards, including the coveted honor for Best Limited Series. Kate's Mare of Easttown co-stars Evan Peters and Julianne Nicholson also won.

Besides winning Best Comedy Series and Best Actor in a Comedy Series, for star, writer, and co-creator Jason Sudeikis, Apple TV+ soccer series Ted Lasso also racked up awards for supporting actors Brett Goldstein and Hannah Waddingham.

Fellow Brit, Michaela Coel, meanwhile, won the gong for Best Writing in a Television Limited Series or Movie, for her work on the powerful HBO/BBC drama, I May Destroy You, about a young writer trying to move past a horrific sexual assault. She won huge applause for her speech, urging fellow writers to "write the tale that scares you" and dedicating her award "to every single survivor of sexual assault".

Governors Award recipient Debbie Allen also won raves for her own powerful words, urging viewers and attendees to "claim their power."

  • Best Drama: The Crown
  • Best Limited Series: The Queen's Gambit
  • Best Comedy: Ted Lasso
  • Best Actress, Comedy: Jean Smart, Hacks
  • Best Actor, Comedy: Jason Sudeikis, Ted Lasso
  • Best Actress, Drama: Olivia Colman, The Crown
  • Best Actor, Drama: Josh O'Connor, The Crown
  • Best Actress, Limited Series or TV Movie: Kate Winslet, Mare of Easttown
  • Best Actor, Limited Series or TV Movie: Ewan McGregor, Halston
  • Supporting Actress, Comedy: Hannah Waddingham, Ted Lasso
  • Supporting Actor, Comedy: Brett Goldstein, Ted Lasso
  • Supporting Actress, Drama: Gillian Anderson, The Crown
  • Supporting Actor, Drama: Tobias Menzies, The Crown
  • Supporting Actress, Limited Series or a Movie: Julianne Nicholson, Mare of Easttown
  • Supporting Actor, Limited Series or Movie: Evan Peters, Mare of Easttown
  • Variety Talk Series: Last Week Tonight With John Oliver
  • Reality Competition Program: RuPaul's Drag Race
  • Writing for a Comedy Series: Lucia Aniello, Paul W. Downs and Jen Statsky, Hacks (There Is No Line)
  • Writing for a Drama Series: Peter Morgan, The Crown (War)
  • Writing for a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie: Michaela Coel, I May Destroy You
  • Directing for a Comedy Series: Lucia Aniello, Hacks (There Is No Line)
  • Directing for a Drama Series: Jessica Hobbs, The Crown (War)
  • Directing for a Limited Series: Scott Frank, The Queen's Gambit
  • Variety Special (Live): Stephen Colbert's Election Night 2020: Democracy's Last Stand Building Back America Great Again Better 2020
  • Variety Special (Pre-recorded): Hamilton
  • Governors Award: Debbie Allen

More Entertainment News



Castanet Proud Member of RTNDA Canada