Trail players snag three of six major BCHL awards

Smokies dominate awards

The play of second year forward Kent Johnson was one of the main reasons why the Trail Smoke Eaters had the success they did in the BC Hockey League this season.

His dominance didn't go un-noticed as the league announced its regular season individual award winners Wednesday.

Johnson, the league's scoring leader with 101 points, was named the league's most sportsmanlike players and MVP.

He led the league in almost every offensive category in 2019-20, including points, goals (41), assists (60), power-play goals (14), power-play assists (25), power-play points (39) and points-per-game (1.94).

Johnson was also assessed just seven minor penalties during the season.

Because of his late birthday, he isn’t eligible for the NHL draft until 2021, but he is committed to the University of Michigan next season.

Johnson's teammate, goaltender Logan Terness, was named the league's top rookie.

Terness won 27 games in 44 appearances. He finished the regular season with a .932 save percentage,  2.36 goals against average and one shutout.

Other award winners include:

  • Top defenceman - Akito Hirose (Salmon Arm Silverbacks)
  • Top goaltender - Clay Stevenson (Coquitlam Express)
  • Coach of the Year - Jason Fortier (Coquitlam Express)
  • Top goaltending duo - Clay Stevenson & Jack Watson (Coquitlam Express)
  • Regular season champions - Coquitlam Express

Playoffs in the BCHL open up this week.

The West Kelowna Warriors and Penticton Vees get a head start on the rest of the league.

They open up their best-of-seven first round series Thursday night at the SOEC.

More BCHL articles


Recent Trending



Cover your team's games! Write up a story and email us [email protected] for publication here.

Castanet Proud Member of RTNDA Canada