Movie Listings

More big wins for 1917

British director Sam Mendes' 1917 has emerged as an Oscars front-runner after landing both the Directors Guild of America and American Society of Cinematographers top prizes over the weekend.

Visionary Roger Deakins picked up the top award at the 34th annual ASC Awards, as Mendes collected the Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film honor for the war epic at the DGA Awards on Saturday.

There were also wins at the ASC Awards for TV drama The Handmaid's Tale (Best Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television), The Terror: Infamy (Best TV Motion Picture, Miniseries, Pilot), and Honeyland (Documentary Award).

Filmmaker Werner Herzog received the ASC's Board of Governors Award, and dedicated the trophy to the cinematographers with whom he has worked, while Frederick Elmes received the Lifetime Achievement Award, Donald A. Morgan was honored with the Career Achievement in Television Award, Bruno Delbonnel received the International Award, and Don McCuaig was the recipient of the Presidents Award.

More Entertainment News

Recent Trending
Soft 103.9

Castanet Proud Member of RTNDA Canada