Playoff format finalized

The BC Hockey League has confirmed it will use the same playoff format instituted for the first time last season.

That means 16 of the 17 teams will vie for the Fred Page Cup with the Surrey Eagles the odd-man out.

While the exact seedings still need to be determined, the top four teams in both the Island and Coastal Divisions will meet in the opening round with the fifth place team in the Island Division, either Alberni Valley or Cowichan, crossing over as the number eight seed in the Interior Division.

That team would face the first place Interior Division team in the opening round.

The other seven teams in the Interior would face off with 2 vs. 7, 3 vs. 6 and 4 vs. 5.

The regular season will come to a close Sunday, Feb. 24, with the opening night of the playoffs slated for Friday, March 1.

Each round leading to the Fred Page Cup championship are best-of-seven.

More BCHL articles


Recent Trending



Cover your team's games! Write up a story and email us [email protected] for publication here.


Castanet Proud Member of RTNDA Canada