Wednesday, September 2nd21.3°C

OK Rockets fit to be tied

It's like groundhog day and a bad Father's Day gift rolled into one.

Another game - another tie.

The Okanagan Rockets skated to a 1-1 tie with the Prince Albert Mintos Wednesday at the Telus Cup in Moose Jaw.

It's the third straight tie for the BC/Alberta midget champions coming on the heels of 3-3 draws with Chateauguay and host Moose Jaw.

The Rockets are just the second team in the 41 year history of the tournament to play to three ties during the preliminary round of the tournament.

The game was scoreless until Keegan Kjargaard put the Saskatchewan squad up 1-0 just 53 seconds into the third period.

As they have all tournament long the Rockets found a way to equalize late in the game.

Gen Bryshun beat the Prince Albert netminder with a wrist shot through a screen with less than seven minutes left to secure the single point.

Tanner Wishnowski picked up an assist on the goal giving him a tournament leading seven points (3 goals, 4 assists).

Wishnowski has been in on all seven Rockets goals.

Neither team had any success with the man advantage. The Rockets went 0-6 on the power-play while Prince Albert were 0-5.

The Rockets return to the ice Thursday night when they take on winless Halifax McDonalds (0-2-1).


Comments on this story are pre-moderated and approval times may vary. Before they appear, comments are reviewed by moderators to ensure they meet our submission guidelines. Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments are open and welcome for three days after the story is published. We reserve the right to close comments before then. Comments that appear on the site are not the opinion of Castanet, but only of the comment writer.

Read more Sports News

Recent Trending


Sports Links

UBCO Athletics

GOLF [+]
MISC. [+]

Does your local team have a website?
Email us to add your community sports link.

Cover your team's games! Write up a story and email us [email protected] for publication here.

Member of BC Press Council