Friday, October 31st7.9°C

Shanahan takes over Leafs

It's official: Hockey Hall of Fame member and Team Canada Olympian Brendan Shanahan is the newest president of the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Shanahan has taken over the role of president and alternate governor of the popular NHL franchise, Maple Leaf Sports and Entertainment (MLSE) said in a statement Friday morning.

After a 27-year career as an NHL player and league executive, Shanahan has resigned from his position as the league's senior vice president of player safety in order to focus on his new role overseeing the Leafs' team operations.

Shanahan earned three Stanley Cups with the Detroit Red Wings, and won gold medals with Team Canada at the 1994 World Championships, 2002 World Olympics, and the 1991 Canada Cup. He was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame on July 9 of last year.

"Throughout his career, Shanahan established himself as an important voice for the game of hockey, not only for his on-ice credentials, but for his leadership qualities off the ice," according to the statement released Friday.

He's an eight-time NHL All Star, and joined the league's head office in December 2009 as vice president of hockey and business development. He also served as the league's chief player disciplinarian for three seasons.


Comments on this story are pre-moderated and approval times may vary. Before they appear, comments are reviewed by moderators to ensure they meet our submission guidelines. Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments are open and welcome for three days after the story is published. We reserve the right to close comments before then. Comments that appear on the site are not the opinion of Castanet, but only of the comment writer.

Read more Sports News

Recent Trending


Sports Links

UBCO Athletics

GOLF [+]
MISC. [+]

Does your local team have a website?
Email us to add your community sports link.

Cover your team's games! Write up a story and email us [email protected] for publication here.

Member of BC Press Council