Friday, October 9th9.6°C

Morris on to men's curling playoffs

John Morris and his rink representing Kelowna and Vernon curling clubs is two wins away from advancing to the Tim Horton's Brier.

Morris who skips the team, Jim Cotter who throws last stones, second Tyrel Griffith and lead Rick Sawatsky became the first team to qualify for the playoffs at the BC Men's Curling Championships in Vancouver Thursday night.

They beat Neil Dangerfield of Victoria 6-5 in the "a" side final to go through the triple knockout portion of the championship a perfect 4-0.

Morris and company led 4-2 after seven ends before giving up three to Dangerfield in the eighth.

After blanking nine Morris was able to score his deuce in 10 for the victory.

The Okanagan rink will now wait for the triple knockout portion to conclude before learning who he fill face in the Page Playoff 1-2 game Saturday morning at 11.

Kelowna's Jeff Richard is just two wins away from joining Morris in the playoff round.

After dropping his opening game back on Wednesday, Richard has reeled off three straight wins to advance to the "B" event semi-final.

The winner of the "B" event plus two qualifiers from the "C" event will advance to Saturday's playoff round.

The final is set for Sunday at 4 p.m. with the winner advancing to next month's Brier in Kamloops.



Comments on this story are pre-moderated and approval times may vary. Before they appear, comments are reviewed by moderators to ensure they meet our submission guidelines. Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments are open and welcome for three days after the story is published. We reserve the right to close comments before then. Comments that appear on the site are not the opinion of Castanet, but only of the comment writer.

Read more Sports News


Recent Trending


Sports Links

UBCO Athletics

GOLF [+]
MISC. [+]

Does your local team have a website?
Email us to add your community sports link.

Cover your team's games! Write up a story and email us [email protected] for publication here.

Member of BC Press Council