• Kelowna's Homepage
  • Vernon's Homepage

Did Canada name a golden roster?

Team Canada has announced its 25-man roster for the Sochi Olympics, and it's built around key contributors from the gold-medal team from 2010 in Vancouver.

Sidney Crosby, Jonathan Toews, Ryan Getzlaf, Corey Perry and Patrice Bergeron are among the Vancouver medallists named to the team.

The complete Canadian roster is as follows:

Goaltenders: Roberto Luongo, Carey Price, Mike Smith

Defence: Jay Bouwmeester, Drew Doughty, Dan Hamhuis, Duncan Keith, Alex Pietrangelo, P.K. Subban, Marc-Edouard Vlasic, Shea Weber

Forwards: Jamie Benn, Patrice Bergeron, Jeff Carter, Sidney Crosby, Matt Duchene, Ryan Getzlaf, Chris Kunitz, Patrick Marleau, Rick Nash, Corey Perry, Patrick Sharp, Steven Stamkos, John Tavares, Jonathan Toews

There will be 11 players returning to the squad from the team that won gold at the Vancouver 2010 Games.

Canada's first game in Sochi is Feb. 13 against Norway. Canada will also play Group B games against Austria on Feb. 14 and Finland on Feb. 16.

Notable omissions from the squad at forward include Claude Giroux, James Neal, Joe Thornton, Eric Staal, Martin St. Louis, and Logan Couture. Left off the team on defence were Dan Boyle and Brent Seabrook.


Comments on this story are pre-moderated and approval times may vary. Before they appear, comments are reviewed by moderators to ensure they meet our submission guidelines. Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments are open and welcome for three days after the story is published. We reserve the right to close comments before then. Comments that appear on the site are not the opinion of Castanet, but only of the comment writer.

Recent Trending