Friday, April 18th7.6°C

RDOS elects chair and vice chair for 2014

The Regional District of Okanagan Similkameen board elected their new chair and vice chair for the 2014 year at their meeting Thursday.

Mark Pendergraft will serve as chair and Garry Litke will be vice chair.

Pendergraft was previously elected to be chair of the RDOS in July of 2013.

Prior to that, the director for rural Osoyoos, served as acting board chair, since Dan Ashton resigned from the role in early June.

Ashton is now the MLA for the Penticton riding.

Litke is the Mayor of Penticton.

Prior to being elected Thursday, Pendergraft described 2013 as a year the board could look back on with pride and also as an interesting year.

Unusual for us, he said, we had a significant turn-over on the board, the election of former chair Dan Ashton as MLA, leading to the resignation of Garry Litke to run for the vacant mayor's position, causing a chain reaction on the board.

The reaction involved bringing new board members from the city and longtime board member John Vassilaki leaving.

Furthermore in 2013, the board maintained a focus on regional issues and fiscal responsibility.

The election of the Okanagan Siilkameen Regional Hospital District board chair and vice chair for 2014 also took place Thursday.

The chair will be Janice Perrino and vice chair will be Judy Sentes.

Perrino previously served as chair and Sentes is a Penticton city councillor.

Read more Penticton / S. Okanagan News


Recent Trending



Castanet pays for news tips. Email us a news tip, photo, or video and your name will be in a draw for our weekly news tip prize $25. Email us [email protected]


Penticton SPCA Featured Pet

Virginia Penticton SPCA >


South Okanagan Quick Links City of Penticton
Penticton Tourism
Penticton Transit
Okanagan Falls
Town of Oliver
Town of Osoyoos
Town of Keremeos
Interior Health
Okanagan College
Regional District Okanagan-Similkameen
Penticton & Wine Country Chamber
Penticton Discussion Forum
District of Summerland
Summerland Chamber & Tourism
School District 67 - Okanagan Skaha
School District 53 - Okanagan Similkameen
Okanagan Regional Library
Township of Hedley

Member of BC Press Council