City's best vie for awards

In just under two months, the City will name the recipients of the 39th Annual Civic and Community Awards -- a decision that will prove just as difficult as selecting this year’s category finalists, which were announced today.

The Civic and Community Awards are the City of Kelowna’s premier awards event dedicated to recognizing volunteers, artists, athletes and business leaders through 12 categories and 17 awards.

“It was a record breaking year for the number of nominations we received, which made our selection committee’s job even harder,” says Jim Gabriel, Divisional Director, Active Living and Culture.

“Kelowna is a great place to live not only because of our surroundings but more so because of the people who live and work in this community. The awards capture how inspired we are as a community and highlight our residents, businesses and organizations that have made a significant difference by enhancing the lives of others and making our city a better place to live.”

2013 award finalists by category are:   (finalists are listed in alphabetical order)

Fred Macklin Memorial - Man of the Year

  • Jim Belshaw
  • Sean Pihl
  • Darryl Reuter

Sarah Donalda-Treadgold Memorial - Woman of the Year

  • Carole Bridges
  • Jody Pihl
  • Rose Sexsmith

Young Male of the Year

  • Johnathan Charlton
  • John Gay
  • Kolby Zinger-Harris

Young Female of the Year

  • Melissa Curatolo
  • Freya Kellet
  • Pauline Schrott

Central Okanagan Foundation – Volunteer Organization of the Year

  • Freedom’s Door
  • Hands in Service
  • Seniors Outreach Society

Corporate Community of the Year Award - Small /Medium Business

  • Mavazi Apparel
  • Pace Sports Fitness
  • Urban Harvest

Corporate Community of the Year Award - Large Business

  • Cooper’s Foods, Rutland
  • Grant Thornton LLP
  • Royal LePage

Honour in the Arts

  • Jan Harvey
  • Yuriko Larson
  • Glenna Turbull

Teen Honour in the Arts

  • Mikayla Jones
  • Mandy Jong
  • Marko Prodanovic

Female Augie Ciancone Memorial

  • Hannah Johnson
  • Jacquline Sellers
  • Carys Swan

Male Augie Ciancone Memorial

  • Liam Duncan
  • Josiah Joseph
  • Aaron Stroda

Bryan Couling Memorial – Athletic Team of the Year

  • Kelowna Christian School Senior Boys Basketball Team
  • Kelowna Christian School Senior Girls Volleyball Team
  • UBCO Heat, Women’s Cross-Country Running Team

Bob Giordano Memorial

  • Dino Gini
  • Dan Proulx
  • John Sharples

Male Athlete of the year

  • Alex Hart
  • Eric Neilson
  • Josh Zakala

Female Athlete of the Year

  • Julianne Delaurier
  • Danielle Gruber
  • Keely Watts-Watling

Champion for the Environment - Individual

  • John Campbell McInnes
  • Jenica Frisque
  • Judie Steeves

Champion for the Environment - Business

  • House of Rose Winery
  • London Drugs
  • Summerhill Winery

Award recipients from each category will be revealed on Thursday, May 1 as part of the gala ceremony taking place at the Kelowna Community Theatre.

Tickets will be available March 17 at a cost of $25 per person. To purchase tickets, please call 250-469-8811.


Comments are pre-moderated to ensure they meet our guidelines. Approval times will vary. Keep it civil, and stay on topic. If you see an inappropriate comment, please use the ‘flag’ feature. Comments are the opinions of the comment writer, not of Castanet. Comments remain open for one day after a story is published and are closed on weekends. Visit Castanet’s Forums to start or join a discussion about this story.

More Kelowna News

Recent Trending



Okanagan Oldies

Kelowna SPCA Featured Pet

Ellie Kelowna SPCA >



Castanet Proud Member of RTNDA Canada