• Kelowna's Homepage
  • Vernon's Homepage

Central Okanagan  

Outstanding principals in our back yard

Two of this country's outstanding school principals ply their trade within School District 23.

The district announced Thursday morning Jamie Robinson, Principal of Glenrosa Middle School and John McMahon, Principal of George Pringle Elementary School have been selected as two of Canada's Outstanding Principals.

The selection was made by The Learning Partnership, a national charitable organization that has championed public education in Canada since 1993.

Only 40 principals across the country were selected.

“We are incredibly proud of these two accomplished Principals. To be selected amongst only 40 school leaders being recognized throughout the Nation is a great tribute to their leadership," says SD23 Superintendent, Hugh Gloster.

Jamie Robinson has 21 years of experience in education, having come to the Central Okanagan after his University training in Calgary. Jamie has experience as a teacher or administrator at Rutland Senior Secondary, Mount Boucherie Secondary, Constable Neil Bruce Middle, Okanagan Mission Secondary, and is currently the Principal of Glenrosa Middle School.

John McMahon has 27 years of experience in education, which includes teaching and administrative positions in Vancouver, West Vancouver and the Central Okanagan School District. John joined the Central Okanagan School District in 2002 as a Vice-Principal at Springvalley Middle School. Since that time he has been Vice-Principal at Okanagan Mission Secondary and Principal of Helen Gorman Elementary, Glenmore Elementary and is currently the Principal of George Pringle Elementary School.

The Canada’s Outstanding Principals (COP) program is in its 9th year and this year’s 40 winners will join the assembly of more than 300 previous recipients of this prestigious honour.

It is presented to Principals who have made a measurable difference in the lives of their students and their local communities.

More Central Okanagan School District Principals have received this award than any other District in Canada.

The winners will be inducted into the National Academy of Principals at a gala dinner in Toronto and attend a five-day Executive Leadership Training Program at the University of Toronto’s Rotman School of Management in February.


Comments on this story are pre-moderated and approval times may vary. Before they appear, comments are reviewed by moderators to ensure they meet our submission guidelines. Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic and be responsible. Comments are open and welcome for three days after the story is published. We reserve the right to close comments before then. Comments that appear on the site are not the opinion of Castanet, but only of the comment writer.

More Central Okanagan articles