BC Hockey League tweaks playoff format

The BC Hockey League has announced changes to its playoff format in advance of the 2013-2014 post season.

As was the case a year ago, the top four teams in each of the league's three divisions (Interior, Island, Mainland) will qualify for post season play.

The opening round will feature best-of-seven matchups within each division in a 1 versus 4 and 2 versus 3 format.

The winners of each first round series will then face off again each other within their own division in a best-of-seven to determine three division champions.

Those three division champions will then square off in a unique three team, six game playoff round in which each division winner plays a home and home series against the other two round robin winners.

The team with the lowest point total through the double round robin will be eliminated with the other two teams facing off in a best-of-seven for the Fred Page Cup.

The BC Hockey League's regular season concludes March 1 with playoffs in all six opening round series set to begin Tuesday, March 4.



Comments are pre-moderated to ensure they meet our guidelines. Approval times will vary. Keep it civil, and stay on topic. If you see an inappropriate comment, please use the ‘flag’ feature. Comments are the opinions of the comment writer, not of Castanet. Comments remain open for one day after a story is published and are closed on weekends. Visit Castanet’s Forums to start or join a discussion about this story.

More BCHL articles


Recent Trending


Cover your team's games! Write up a story and email us [email protected] for publication here.


Castanet Proud Member of RTNDA Canada