Sun unveil hall of fame

The Okanagan Sun will begin to honour their long and rich history in junior football in Canada.

The Sun announced Thursday they'll be creating the club's Hall of Fame.

The hall will recognize players, builders, volunteers and significant teams spanning the 38-year history of the team.

"We want to thank and recognize all the players and volunteers who made the Sun organization what it is today," said Sun vice-president Brett Kryskow.

"This event is important for us."

The club also announced the first seven inductees into the new hall.

The first class is headed by Sun founding member Dr. Barry Urness, who passed away after a brief battle with cancer in 2012.

Long-time trainer Terry Britton will be inducted as a volunteer.

Five players will also be inducted, led by former CFLers Chad Folk and Jay Christensen.

Folk, a centre, was taken first overall by Toronto in the 1997 CFL draft. He won Grey Cups in 1999 and 2004.

Christensen spent 10 seasons in the CFL with four teams. He scored 21 touchdowns over that span, winning a Grey Cup in Edmonton in 1993.

Running backs Terrance Huston and Jeff Halvorson, along with defensive lineman Greg Hewko, were also inducted.

Huston, who toiled on the practice roster of the NFL's Miami Dolphins and Oakland Raiders, still holds the team record with 44 career touchdowns.

Halvorson died after collapsing on the field during practice in 2004. He died of an airborne virus that affected his lymph nodes.

The inductees will be honoured at a banquet on June 26 at the Coast Capri Hotel.

Wally Buono, the CFL's all-time leader in wins by a coach, will be the headline speaker.

Click here for tickets.

More BCFC articles


Recent Trending




Cover your team's games! Write up a story and email us [email protected] for publication here.

Previous Stories


Castanet Proud Member of RTNDA Canada