Sun place eight all-stars

Eight members of the Okanagan Sun were named to the BC Football Conference all-star team.

The teams were announced over the past two days.

Five of the eight were on the defensive side of the ball as the Sun produced the stingiest defence in the league, allowing just 134 points against in 10 games.

Defensive back Tye Kitzman, who tied for the league lead with six interceptions, led the way for the Sun.

He is joined by defensive back Beck Fullerton, linebackers Conor Richard and Eli Haynes and defensive lineman Cole Klughart.

Richard is the only Sun defensive all-star also named to the 2016 squad.

Only three players were named to the name from the offensive side, including a pair of linemen, Marshall Klein and Matt Robinson. Wide receiver Nate Anderson was also selected to the team.

The regular season champion Westshore Rebels had seven players named to the all-star squad, including five on offence. The VI Raiders had six selections followed by the Langley Rams (three), Valley Huskers (two) and Kamloops Broncos (one).

The BCFC playoffs begin this coming weekend. The Sun, who finished second in the regular season, will play host to the Raiders Sunday afternoon at 1 p.m., while the Rebels will entertain the Rams Saturday evening.

More BCFC articles


Recent Trending



Cover your team's games! Write up a story and email us [email protected] for publication here.

Previous Stories

Castanet Proud Member of RTNDA Canada