Central Okanagan  

Making a difference

Premier Christy Clark and Keith Mitchell, chair of the British Columbia Achievement Foundation, today named this year's recipients of the BC Community Achievement Awards.

"Communities are built by people who step up to the plate and contribute," said Premier Christy Clark. "On behalf of all British Columbians, I would like to thank and congratulate the outstanding individuals named today for their contributions. British Columbia's biggest strength is people like them."

Local recipients:

  • Dr. Jeannette Armstrong of Penticton: Artist, scholar and writer, Armstrong from the Syilx Okanagan
    Nation was one of the founders and is the director of the En'owkin Centre, an interdisciplinary fine arts school that fosters Indigenous identity through the arts. Dr. Armstrong is recognized as a mentor and a visionary and one of British Columbia's great leaders and educators.
  • Phyllis MacPherson of Lake Country: An extraordinary and longtime community volunteer, MacPherson is responsible for the Lake Country Food Bank that now serves 8,400 people annually. Phyllis fundraises and co-ordinates this community resource, ensuring that the food bank is always staffed and provisioned. Phyllis is
    also an active member of the Lake Country Seniors' Club, Wheels to Meals and the Art Walk.
  • Brianne Moore of Kelowna: An outstanding student leader, Moore organizes a wide range of school events to create an atmosphere of spirit and caring. The Global Service Club, the Me to We organization, District Student Council and District Forum are examples of Brianne’s commitment to making a difference
  • Libby Nelson of Fruitvale: A civic and regional leader in the West Kootenay area. She served as mayor of Fruitvale for 15 years, on the West Kootenay Regional Health Board, chaired school district 20 board of trustees, and was a director of the Regional District of Kootenay Boundary. Libby is also a strong voice for families and youth, a philanthropist and humanitarian.

An independent advisory council selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards. This year's council members are Mayor Mike Clay of Port Moody, Mayor Shari Green of Prince George, and past recipients Don Montgomery of Richmond (2009), Joyce Carlson of Powell River (2009) and Jane Frost of Vancouver (2006).

The recipients of the 2013 British Columbia Community Achievement Awards will be recognized in a formal presentation at Government House in Victoria on March 14, 2013. Each will receive a certificate and a medallion designed by BC artist Robert Davidson.

More Central Okanagan articles